How Can I Improve
My Credit Score?

It is not the end of the world if your current credit rating is unfavourable. There are ways to improve it gradually, we got you some tips from experts below. Thank us later ;)

Do’s

(Best practices)

  1. Pay your debts on time Pay your debts on time - tick Pay your debts on time

    Your payment history is the most influential factor determining your credit score. Paying back your debts (such as credit card bills & loan) on time and in full is VERY IMPORTANT for a healthy credit score.

  2. Open at least one credit account to be credit trackable Open at least one credit account to be credit trackable - tick Open at least one credit account to be credit trackable

    Credit score is calculated based on your credit records, which are also part of your credit report. In order to be assessable by Credit Referencing Agency (CRA) for a credit score, you need to have some credit history, for example, at least one credit account, so that you could be credit trackable. Don’t hesitate and open some credit accounts, such as getting a credit card, as long as you don’t overspend.

  3. Maintain 30% – 50% credit utilisation Maintain 30% – 50% credit utilisation - tick Maintain 30% – 50% credit utilisation

    Just because your credit card offers you a certain credit limit doesn’t mean that you have to max it out. Moderation is key! Maintain your credit usage at around 30% – 50% of your credit limit per credit product and your total credit limit to get a good credit score.

  4. Keep track of your credit report Keep track of your credit report - tick Keep track of your credit report

    Apart from your credit rating, a credit report also includes your credit repayment history, including loans, current debt, and other financial information. You can apply for the TransUnion Credit Report, Score and Alerts services to monitor your credit score trend & changes. This helps you to keep your credit status at a healthy level easily. Always make sure information in the report is correct. If there is a mistake, alert TransUnion immediately.

Don’ts
  1. Late payment Late payment - cross Late payment

    Contrary to common misconceptions, late debt repayment is actually a BIG DEAL. It affects your credit score negatively and this record will stay for 5 years. Avoid late repayment at all costs.

  2. Pay min pay only Pay min pay only - cross Pay min pay only

    If you repay your debt on time but only stick with minimum payment, that’s a NO-NO too. Minimum payment means you are still owing creditors money; therefore, will also leave a bad grade on your credit report.

  3. Use cash only Use cash only - cross Use cash only

    Using cash exclusively and having no credit account doesn’t grant you the best credit score. Instead, it means you would have no credit record and your creditworthiness is NOT TRACKABLE. Be bold and open some credit accounts to show people that you are trustworthy!

  4. Use more than 50% of your total credit limit Use more than 50% of your total credit limit - cross Use more than 50% of your total credit limit

    Again, moderation is key. Don’t use more than 50% of your credit limit per credit product and total credit limit! Otherwise, it may indicate that you have unhealthy credit habits or you are overspending.

  5. Apply multiple credit products at once Apply multiple credit products at once - cross Apply multiple credit products at once

    Don’t apply for too many credit products in a short period of time. Only apply when you need them. We know some credit card promotions are tempting, but opening too many credit accounts at once creates an impression that you have an unstable credit situation.

Check My Credit Score Check My Credit Score

Top 5 Misconceptions

  1. 1 Your credit score will drop if you check your credit report

    WRONG! Checking your credit report regularly means you are taking the responsibility of your credit score. Check the trend and changes to help yourself get a healthy credit score.

  2. 2 Closing old accounts will improve your credit score

    NOT ALWAYS. For example, closing the oldest account could shorten your active credit history which might affect your score.

  3. 3 Once you pay off a negative record, it is removed from your credit report

    Sorry, it’s not true. Negative record will stay for at least 5 years on your credit report even if you had paid it off.

  4. 4 If I don’t use any credit product, I will have the best credit score

    WRONG!
    No credit account
    = no reference on your credit score
    = unable to assess your creditworthiness effectively
    How would you have a good credit score if you have no credit account?

  5. 5 Paying off a debt will immediately uplift my credit score

    That’s not true. Generally speaking, it takes 3-6 months to improve your credit score. We suggest you settle your payment in full, on time and on a regular basis. Paying in advance or settling a written off account might negatively affect your credit score.

TransUnion X WuChat Prop

TransUnion recently collaborated with WuChat Prop, a KOL channel for property market, to share information and myths about credit ratings through a Q&A section.

Check out the Q&A video here NOW!
(Content available in Cantonese only)

Credit score and rating change all the time and can be complicated. That’s why we recommend you to start monitoring your credit score to get a better idea about it!

Get assessed by TransUnion. Get your TransUnion Credit Score. Enable your creditworthiness to be recognised globally!

Transunion’s credit scoring takes into account a comprehensive set of credit and public record data to ensure that consumers are reliably and fairly represented with statistic support, while helping financial institutions manage risk appropriately. Financial institutions’ risk appetites may vary, and credit scores are among many factors that lenders take into account when it comes to extending credit. Transunion’s proprietary scoring algorithms, containing dozens of data attributes, is an analysis built upon decades of market experience, industry insights and expertise in Hong Kong and around the globe. The credit-related behaviours it analyses can trigger multiple attributes that affect a person’s credit score, subject to different situations. While building credit health is always attainable, it generally takes time and consistent healthy credit habits to see an improvement.

TransUnion

如何 改善
我的信貸評分?

如果你現時的信貸評分不太理想,不用過分擔心,這並非世界末日。其實有不少方法可以逐步改善信貸評分,我們從環聯的信貸達人手中得到了一些貼士供你參考。

應該做

  1. 準時還款 準時還款 - tick 準時還款

    你的還款紀錄是影響信貸評級的最大因素。按時全額償還你的債務(如信用卡卡數和貸款)對於維持信貸健康是非常重要。

  2. 開設信貸賬戶為信貸評級的基礎 開設信貸賬戶為信貸評級的基礎 - tick 開設信貸賬戶為信貸評級的基礎

    信貸評級是基於你過往的信貸紀錄而計算得出的,一項項的信貸紀錄同時亦會記錄到你的信貸報告内。因此,你應開設最少一個信貸賬戶,好讓信貸評級機構有足夠資料計算你的信貸評分。不要杞人憂天,開設一些信貸賬戶,例如申請信用卡,只要不過度消費「碌爆卡」,便可向一個好的信貸評級努力進發。

  3. 維持信貸額使用率在 30% - 50% 維持信貸額使用率在 30% - 50% - tick 維持信貸額使用率在 30% - 50%

    信用卡通常會給予消費者一定的信用額度,但這並不代表你要用盡信用額。謹記「中庸之道」! 將總信貸額及每張信用卡的信貸額使用率均維持在 30% - 50% 左右,便是建立良好信貸習慣的重要一步。

  4. 定期查閲自己的信貸報告 定期查閲自己的信貸報告 - tick 定期查閲自己的信貸報告

    信貸報告除了為你提供信貸評級,更包涵你的還款紀錄,並貸款、現時債務和其他財務資料。 你可以申請環聯信貸報告、評分及提示服務,隨時隨地查閲信貸評分的趨勢和變化,幫助你輕鬆地將評分保持在健康水平。 記住要確保報告中的資料正確無誤,如果發現有錯誤,請立即通知環聯。

切勿做
  1. 逾期還款 逾期還款 - cross 逾期還款

    不少人以為逾期還款沒甚麼大影響,其實是大錯特錯。逾期償還債務會對你的信貸評分產生負面影響,而且有關記錄會被保留5年。 因此,你應盡量避免逾期還款。

  2. 只付最低還款額(還min pay) 只付最低還款額(還min pay) - cross 只付最低還款額(還min pay)

    「準時還款,但只付最低還款額」這也是要不得的習慣。只付最低還款額即尚未還清欠款,一樣會對信貸評級有負面影響。

  3. 只用現金 只用現金 - cross 只用現金

    以為只用現金就能助你取得最高的信貸評級?當然不能!這只意味著你並沒有任何信貸紀錄,而且無辦法肯定你的信用人格。因此,應開設一些信貸賬戶,向其他人證明你是「有借有還上等人」!

  4. 信貸額使用率超過 50% 信貸額使用率超過 50% - cross 信貸額使用率超過 50%

    再一次重申,謹記「中庸之道」。千萬不要使用超過你信用總額或每個產品信用額的50%!否則,你可能被視為信貸習慣欠佳或有過度消費問題。

  5. 同時申請多個信貸產品 同時申請多個信貸產品 - cross 同時申請多個信貸產品

    切勿在短時間內申請多個信貸產品,應該在有需要時才適度申請。信用卡的優惠及贈品有時的確非常吸引,但要注意同時申請多個信貸產品容易予人你的財務狀況不穩定的印象。

立即查閱信貸評分 立即查閱信貸評分

5 大信貸評級的常見迷思

  1. 1 自己查閱信貸報告會令評級下降

    錯!定時查閲自己的信貸報告是負責任的行為,而且可以監察自己的評分趨勢及變化,助你更輕鬆取得好的信貸評級!

  2. 2 取消舊的信貸戶口可以提高信貸評分

    不一定。舉個例子,如果你取消你紀錄最長的信貸賬戶,那可能會縮短你的信貸歷史,從而影響評分。

  3. 3 只要還清款項,負面紀錄就會即時在信貸報告中消失

    對不起, 事情沒有那麼簡單。就算你已經還清債務,負面的信貸紀錄會留在信貸報告内長達5年。

  4. 4 如果不用任何信貸產品或服務,就可以擁有最高的評分

    錯!
    沒有信貸賬戶
    =沒有信貸評級/評分的基礎
    =不能有效為你的信用人格作出評核
    >> 怎樣可以取得良好的信貸評級呢?

  5. 5 一筆過還清債務可以即時提高信貸評分

    不正確。一般而言,你最少需要3-6個月去改善評分。我們建議你按時、定期,並全數還清款項。 提前還款或取消信貸賬戶都可能會對你的信貸評分構成負面影響。

環聯 X 《胡‧說樓市》

環聯聯同網絡平台《胡‧說樓市》製作了有關信貸評級的Q&A短片,分享了改善信貸評級的詳情,馬上點擊觀看更多資訊!

信貸評級會隨著你的信貸習慣而改變。因此,我們建議你定期查閲自己的信貸報告,深入了解個人信貸狀況,並時刻保持良好的信貸習慣 —— 以良好的環聯評級,取信全球!

環聯的信貸評分參考全面的信貸數據及公眾紀錄,透過數據分析,致力確保消費者獲得可靠及公平的評估,並同時協助金融機構適當地管理風險。金融機構的風險偏好各有不同,而信貸評分是金融機構批核貸款時所考慮的眾多因素之一。 環聯獨有的信貸評分演算法包含數十種數據特質,是環聯運用香港及全球數十年以來的市場經驗,業界分析和專業知識而建構,它所分析的信貸行爲可以引發多個數據特質而影響信貸評分,視乎情況而定,不能一概而論。保持良好的信貸健康是切實可行的目標,只需要耐心以及持之以恆地建立良好的信貸習慣,信貸評分將會逐步見到改善。

TransUnion